Alaska Center for the Book

Poems in Place
Letters About Literature
CLIA Awards
How to Join
Contact Us
Board of Directors
Mission Statement

A Dangerous Idea
Peter Metcalfe discusses his new book, "A Dangerous Idea: The Alaska Native Brotherhood and the Struggle for Indigenous Rights", at 5 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 6 at the UAA Campus Bookstore.

The discussion, co-sponsored by the bookstore and Alaska Center for the Book, is part of Alaska Native/American Indian Heritage Month events in Anchorage.

"A Dangerous Idea" tells an overlooked but powerful story of Alaska Natives fighting for their rights under American law. Throughout the early 20th century, the Alaska Native Brotherhood fought for citizenship, voting rights and education for all Alaska Natives, securing unheard-of victories in a contentious time. Their efforts helped propel Alaska statehood as well as the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act, one of the biggest claim settlements in U.S. history.

Metcalfe, who is from Juneau, is the author of several books documenting the history of Alaska Native tribal organizations, most recently "Gumboot Determination." A photographer, videographer and writer, he has spent decades working with Alaska Native organizations in Southeast Alaska, from corporations to tribal and health organizations. He will be joined in the presentation by Kathy Kolkhorst Ruddy, a researcher and writer who has worked on several books about Alaska Native rights. The presentation is free and open to the public. Free parking is available on campus near the bookstore, and behind Rasmuson Hall and next to the Wells Fargo Sports Center. For more information, see

Letters About Literature 2015

Students in grades 4 through 12 are invited to enter Letters About Literature, a national writing contest sponsored by Alaska Center for the Book and the Center of the Book in the Library of Congress. Information about the 2015 Letters About Literature contest is available on this website and will be available on the Library of Congress Center for the Book site soon. The deadline for the 2015 contest is December 15, 2014 for grades 9-12 and the deadline for grades 4-8 is January 15, 2015.

Poems in Place Dedications and Celebrations

Dedications and Celebrations were recently held at the installations of two new Poems in Place.

For more information visit our Poems in Place web page.

Sue Sherif Literacy Award

This year, the Library of Congress Literacy Awards Program encouraged us to create a special award for literacy. We've chosen to name that award for someone special--a longtime Alaska Center for the Book board member, herself a former CLIA recipient, who is retiring from the state library system. She has dedicated her career to readers of all ages in all parts of the state. Her passion for libraries, books and readers are an inspiration to many people around Alaska.

The first recipients of the Sue Sherif Literacy Award are members of a team that created interactive children's books in Cup'ik. Joseph Gorski is director of technology and federal programs for the Kashunamiut School District in Chevak. Dr. Bob Wicker is director of the Consortium for Digital Learning of the Association of Alaska School Boards. They helped form a team which translated an interactive book series into the Chevak region's language. Finding books that are relevant, accessible and affordable to Alaska Native language speakers has been a longtime goal of the Alaska Center for the Book, and we're delighted that this program is so successful.

CLIA Awards Announced

A well-known Alaskan writer, a bookstore owner, a team creating interactive children’s books in Cup’ik, and a program that preserves Alaska Native languages share the 2014 Contributions to Literacy in Alaska (CLIA) awards.

Honorees include former Alaska writer laureate Nancy Lord, of Homer; Palmer bookstore owner David Cheezem; and the Alaska Native Language Archive at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. A newly-received literacy award is being presented to a partnership between the Kashunamiut School District of Chevak and the Association of Alaska School Boards, which produced an interactive reading program.

The CLIA Awards were presented Tuesday, July 15 at the Arts Building on the University of Alaska Anchorage campus.

The CLIA awards are presented annually by the Alaska Center for the Book, Alaska’s liaison with the U.S. Library of Congress Center for the Book. The awards go to people and institutions who have made a significant contribution in literacy, the literary arts, or the preservation of the written or spoken word in Alaska. Nearly 70 people and organizations statewide have been honored over the past 22 years.
For more information about this year's CLIA Award winners click here.


Next Alaska Center for the Book Board Meeting

 Wednesday, November 5,, 5:30 pm. Diplomacy Building, UAA Campus.

 Contact us for information.


webassets/f_logo.jpg facebook

Visit us on Facebook for more information about Alaska Center for the Book activities.

The Alaska Center for the Book is incorporated as a non-profit organization under 501c(3). All donations are tax deductible to the fullest extent of the law.

Alaska Center for the Book
3600 Denali Street
Anchorage, AK 99503